What the panel ordered
Applicant's petition for reconsideration dismissed as untimely; CIGA's petition for reconsideration granted; WCJ's November 26, 2025 Findings and Order rescinded; matter returned to WCJ for further proceedings
Petitions for reconsideration filed by applicant and defendant CIGA; applicant's petition dismissed as untimely; CIGA's petition granted; WCJ's November 26, 2025 Findings and Order rescinded; case returned to WCJ for further proceedings
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ's finding of a September 28, 2014 date of injury under section 5412 was rejected because applicant lacked knowledge of the injury on that date; medical treatment was last provided on June 29, 2015, tolling the statute of limitations; thus, the claim was not barred and the matter was remanded for further proceedings.
From the decision · page 11Here, the WCJ determined applicant's claim was barred by the statute of limitations, ascribing a section 5412 date of injury of September 28, 2014, based upon an assumption that applicant gleaned the requisite disability and knowledge of his continuous trauma injury based upon the service of the AME Dr. Uppal's medical report of September 4, 2014 to his attorney, however, an applicant's knowledge cannot necessarily be presumed based solely upon written
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant lacked knowledge of cumulative trauma injury as of September 28, 2014
Favours Applicant prevailed
This undermined the WCJ's finding of a September 28, 2014 date of injury under section 5412 and barred the statute of limitations from starting then.
From the decision · page 11Here, the WCJ determined applicant's claim was barred by the statute of limitations, ascribing a section 5412 date of injury of September 28, 2014, based upon an assumption that applicant gleaned the requisite disability and knowledge of his continuous trauma injury based upon the service of the AME Dr. Uppal's medical report of September 4, 2014 to his attorney, however, an applicant's knowledge cannot necessarily be presumed based solely upon written
Medical treatment was last provided on June 29, 2015
Favours Applicant prevailed
This date tolled the statute of limitations under section 5405(c), making the claim timely.
From the decision · page 13(c) The last date on which any benefits provided for in Article 2 (commencing with Section 4600) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 were furnished. (§ 5405(c).) Based on a medical report by Arnaldo Aleman, D.C., and payment to the doctor per printout of benefits, CIGA established that they provided applicant medical treatment benefits on June 29, 2015 for at least one claimed overlapping body parts in the specific claim and cumulative trauma claim. The Application for cumulative trauma was filed on April 25, 2016, which is less than one year after the last provision of medical benefits as per the existing record.
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Assigned permanent impairment and apportioned disability and medical treatment liability among multiple employers; found both specific injury and cumulative trauma caused need for medical treatment and temporary disability.
The WCJ relied on Dr. Uppal's medical reports and deposition to determine causation, apportionment, and the date of injury under section 5412.
Applicant reported only the 1998 injury date to Dr. Aleman, supporting lack of knowledge of cumulative trauma injury by 2014.
Dr. Aleman's report and treatment records showed last medical treatment on June 29, 2015 and applicant's lack of knowledge of cumulative trauma injury as of 2014.
From the decision · page 12Applicant's lack of knowledge sufficient to determine a section 5412 injury based upon a September 28, 2014 date of injury finds further support in the medical reporting submitted by CIGA. On June 29, 2015, applicant went out of network and chose Arnaldo Aleman, D.C., to continue as his PTP for his injuries. To Dr. Aleman, applicant reported only one date of injury: August 12, 1998. (CIGA's Exhibit B., at p. 1.)
Treating physician as of November 28, 2022, involved in ongoing treatment.
From the decision · page 7(Id. at p. 8.) On November 28, 2022, applicant began treating with Yury Furman, M.D., as PTP and
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code sections 5405(c) and 5412
Statute of limitations under Labor Code section 5405(c) and date of injury under section 5412 for cumulative trauma injuries
The WCJ and WCAB applied these statutes to determine the date of injury and whether the claim was barred by the statute of limitations.
From the decision · page 112. Date of injury under section 5412. The injury claimed in this matter is a cumulative trauma injury. Date of injury for cumulative injury claims is established under section 5412, which states:
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Applicant's testimony showed confusion and lack of knowledge about cumulative trauma injury as of 2014
From the decision · page 12medical reporting. While applicant may gain the requisite knowledge and disability from speaking with the doctor at his evaluative appointment and being advised by a doctor that he has an industrial injury, it does not appear from the applicant's testimony at trial that he was questioned as to whether Dr. Uppal advised him at his examination on August 23, 2014 that he suffered an industrial injury from employment after Weiser Iron.
Medical treatment last provided on June 29, 2015, tolling statute of limitations under section 5405(c)
From the decision · page 13(c) The last date on which any benefits provided for in Article 2 (commencing with Section 4600) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 were furnished. (§ 5405(c).) Based on a medical report by Arnaldo Aleman, D.C., and payment to the doctor per printout of benefits, CIGA established that they provided applicant medical treatment benefits on June 29, 2015 for at least one claimed overlapping body parts in the specific claim and cumulative trauma claim. The Application for cumulative trauma was filed on April 25, 2016, which is less than one year after the last provision of medical benefits as per the existing record.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.