What the panel ordered
Petition for Reconsideration denied
Petition for Reconsideration filed by Defendant challenging Findings and Award dated June 7, 2022
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
Dr. Abrams' medical report was deemed substantial evidence supporting the injury to the neck, right arm, and right hand, and entitlement to temporary disability benefits. Defendant failed to provide rebuttal medical evidence and did not diligently investigate the claim, thus the Petition for Reconsideration was denied.
From the decision · page 4Dr. Abrams' report is substantial medical evidence.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Dr. Abrams' medical report was the sole medical evidence and was deemed substantial evidence supporting the injury and temporary disability.
Favours Applicant prevailed
No rebuttal medical evidence was offered by Defendant, and Defendant did not cross-examine the Applicant or take the doctor's deposition, limiting the evidence to Dr. Abrams' report alone.
From the decision · page 5Moreover, Applicant did not testify at the Expedited Hearing. Defendant had the opportunity to subpoena the Applicant to appear and submit to cross-examination, but Defendant did not take that opportunity. Defendant could have sent an interrogatory to the doctor or scheduled his deposition, but Defendant did not. The report of Dr. Abrams therefore must be read on its own, without the benefit of any additional evidence.
Defendant failed to diligently investigate the claim and only responded reactively to Applicant's actions, violating regulations requiring affirmative investigation.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This failure was weighed against Defendant in denying the Petition for Reconsideration, supporting Applicant's entitlement to benefits.
From the decision · page 6From there, Defendant appears to undertake no further action on this claim until Applicant Attorney again files a DOR to Expedited Hearing, which resulted in the trial at issue on body parts and temporary disability.9 The DOR is dated May 16, 2022 and Defendant's Attorney objects to the Dr. Abrams report on May 18, 2022. The objection is nearly two weeks after Defendant's receipt of said report, albeit timely, but seemingly prompted by Applicant's claim for temporary disability benefits, i.e., the DOR. This does not appear to be diligent compliance with the duty to investigate in good faith as Defendant appears to merely be responding to actions set forth by Applicant's Attorney. Defendant instead seems to be only preparing objections and defenses on this claim to date and arguing that Applicant has not met their burden of proof, which violates the regulations.10
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Dr. Abrams concluded the neck injury is work-related despite pre-existing conditions, supporting entitlement to temporary disability benefits.
Dr. Abrams took a medical history, reviewed medical records including Kaiser records, and conducted a clinical exam. He concluded the neck injury was industrial and work-related, though nature and extent were issues.
From the decision · page 4Applicant introduces the sole medical report into evidence. (Applicant's Exhibit 1). In the report, Applicant's Primary Treating Physician, Dr. Abrams, takes a medical history from the Applicant and also reviews available medical records. (Applicant's Exhibit 1, Page 2 & Pages 7- 10 in PDF). The Applicant reports pain in his neck, right arm, and right hand on December 17, 2021 while performing his work duties. (Applicant's Exhibit 1, Page 2). The Applicant then went to Kaiser's ER for treatment in January 2022. 5 (Applicant's Exhibit 1, Page 2 & Page 9 in PDF). Dr. Abrams has the benefit of Applicant's Kaiser Records at the time of his medical report and conclusions. He notes in his record review pre-existing right upper extremity complaints and he also notes that work activities have contributed to issues of the neck. (Applicant's Exhibit 1, Page 4). In his causation section and apportionment discussion, the doctor notes that there are pre- existing issues, but still concludes there is an industrial neck injury. More precisely, Dr. Abrams' conclusion is that the neck is work-related, but nature and extent is certainly an issue. Dr. Abrams has the benefit of a medical exam and personal care records from the Applicant going back to at least 2007.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Escobedo v. Marshalls, CNA Ins. Co., 70 Cal. Comp. Cases 604 (W.C.A.B. April 19, 2005); Zemke v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd., 68 Cal. 2d 794; Garza v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd., 3 Cal. 3d 312; West v. Industrial Acci. Com., 12 Cal. Comp. Cases 86 (Cal. App. May 16, 1947)
Medical opinions must be supported by substantial evidence and not based on speculation or inadequate history/examination.
Dr. Abrams' report was found to meet the substantial evidence standard despite pre-existing conditions and lack of rebuttal evidence.
From the decision · page 4Dr. Abrams' report is substantial medical evidence.
CCR 109(b)(1); Labor Code a74062.2(c); CCR 9812(a)(2); CCR 10782
Defendant must comply with regulations requiring affirmative investigation and timely discovery.
Defendant failed to investigate claim diligently and delayed discovery, which was weighed against them in denying the Petition.
From the decision · page 6From there, Defendant appears to undertake no further action on this claim until Applicant Attorney again files a DOR to Expedited Hearing, which resulted in the trial at issue on body parts and temporary disability.9 The DOR is dated May 16, 2022 and Defendant's Attorney objects to the Dr. Abrams report on May 18, 2022. The objection is nearly two weeks after Defendant's receipt of said report, albeit timely, but seemingly prompted by Applicant's claim for temporary disability benefits, i.e., the DOR. This does not appear to be diligent compliance with the duty to investigate in good faith as Defendant appears to merely be responding to actions set forth by Applicant's Attorney. Defendant instead seems to be only preparing objections and defenses on this claim to date and arguing that Applicant has not met their burden of proof, which violates the regulations.10
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Defendant did not cross-examine Applicant or take doctor's deposition, limiting evidence to Dr. Abrams' report alone.
From the decision · page 5Moreover, Applicant did not testify at the Expedited Hearing. Defendant had the opportunity to subpoena the Applicant to appear and submit to cross-examination, but Defendant did not take that opportunity. Defendant could have sent an interrogatory to the doctor or scheduled his deposition, but Defendant did not. The report of Dr. Abrams therefore must be read on its own, without the benefit of any additional evidence.
Defendant failed to investigate claim diligently and only responded reactively to Applicant's actions.
From the decision · page 6From there, Defendant appears to undertake no further action on this claim until Applicant Attorney again files a DOR to Expedited Hearing, which resulted in the trial at issue on body parts and temporary disability.9 The DOR is dated May 16, 2022 and Defendant's Attorney objects to the Dr. Abrams report on May 18, 2022. The objection is nearly two weeks after Defendant's receipt of said report, albeit timely, but seemingly prompted by Applicant's claim for temporary disability benefits, i.e., the DOR. This does not appear to be diligent compliance with the duty to investigate in good faith as Defendant appears to merely be responding to actions set forth by Applicant's Attorney. Defendant instead seems to be only preparing objections and defenses on this claim to date and arguing that Applicant has not met their burden of proof, which violates the regulations.10
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.