What the panel ordered
The Appeals Board affirmed the WCJ's Findings and Award of April 6, 2020, denying defendant's petition for reconsideration and confirming the compensable psychiatric injury and new and further disability to applicant's psyche.
Defendant filed a timely petition for reconsideration of the WCJ's April 6, 2020 Findings and Award, which was reviewed and affirmed by the Appeals Board after reconsideration.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ and Appeals Board found substantial evidence in Dr. Nehorayan's psychiatric reports supporting compensable psychiatric injury as a consequence of the original industrial injury, and rejected defendant's challenges including statute of limitations and lack of substantial evidence.
From the decision · page 1In the Findings and Award of April 6, 2020, the Workers' Compensation Judge (WCJ) found that applicant, while employed as a child support officer by the County of San Bernardino during the period September 11, 2007 through September 11, 2008, sustained industrial injury to her wrists, elbows and psyche, but not to her neck or shoulders, that applicant's claim was settled by Stipulations and Award approved June 13, 2012, stipulating to injury only to the bilateral elbows and wrists resulting in 21% permanent disability, that the WCAB has jurisdiction to award benefits for the psychiatric injury under Labor Code Section 5410 because applicant filed a timely Petition to Reopen for New and Further Disability, and that applicant's Petition to Reopen is not barred by the Statute of Limitations under Labor Code Section 5405. The WCJ also found that due to a psychiatric injury sustained as a compensable consequence of applicant's original industrial injury, she has incurred new and further disability further disability to her psyche but not to her wrists, elbows, shoulders, or neck, and that the psyche injury has resulted in the need for further medical treatment and permanent disability of 54%, without apportionment.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant filed a timely Petition to Reopen for New and Further Disability on August 28, 2013, within five years of the original injury ending September 2008.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This established the Appeals Board's jurisdiction to consider the psychiatric injury claim under Labor Code Section 5410.
From the decision · page 3In this case, there is no question that applicant filed a timely Petition to Reopen for New and Further Disability, because at the first trial hearing of April 13, 2016, the parties stipulated that applicant did so on August 28, 2013. In that Petition, applicant alleged that she sustained new and further disability to her bilateral wrists, bilateral elbows, bilateral shoulders and neck. At trial on April 13, 2016, the parties likewise stipulated that applicant filed an Amended Application for Adjudication of Claim dated January 16, 2015, alleging that she sustained an industrial injury to her psyche.
Dr. Nehorayan's psychiatric reports diagnosed adjustment disorder as a compensable consequence of the industrial injury and found new and further disability to psyche.
Favours Applicant prevailed
The WCJ and Appeals Board relied on these reports as substantial evidence to support compensability and new and further disability.
From the decision · page 11III. DISCUSSION A. New and Further Disability - Ps ychiatric Iniury: The only issues for reconsideration are whether Applicant sustained an industrial psychiatric injury causing new and further disability, and if so, whether her entitlement to any increased permanent disability from that injury is barred. The only medical evidence submitted on the psychiatric injury are the reports of Dr. Nehorayan dated April 21, 2015 and February 9, 2017. In the former, Dr. Nehorayan concluded Applicant did sustain a psychiatric injury as a compensable consequence of her industrial injuries. He diagnosed adjustment disorder with depressed and anxious mood, chronic, referencing the DSM IV, Code 309.28. (Applicant's Exhibit 4, p. 9.) He noted that Applicant's score on the Beck Depression Inventory was indicative of an individual experiencing a moderate amount of depression. (Id. at p. 7.) He did not find her to be clinically depressed or suffering from a major depressive episode. (Id. at p. 10.) Rather, he found that the nature of her condition is that she has had to struggle continuously in adjusting to the current circumstances associated with her physical condition and the physical pain. (Ibid.) He notes it is difficult for Applicant to exercise with her arms and hands, she is
Defendant failed to present any psychiatric medical opinion in rebuttal and relied on Kaiser records that showed no psychiatric symptoms related to nonindustrial injuries before 2015.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This lack of rebuttal evidence and absence of psychiatric symptoms in records favored applicant's claim of compensable psychiatric injury.
From the decision · page 21, 2020), emphasis added.) Rule 10945(b) then goes on to specify how references to the record must be made. Here, defendant not only violated Rule 10945(b), but failed to make even a reasonable effort to include specific citations to the record. Defendant cannot evade this responsibility and place the burden on the Appeals Board to discover where the evidence supporting the petition can be found in the record. We further note, concerning the substantialty of Dr. Nehorayan's psychiatric reports, that defendant presented no psychiatric medical opinion in rebuttal, and it is well-established that the relevant and considered opinion of one physician may constitute substantial evidence. (Place v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 372, 378-379 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 525].)
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Diagnosed adjustment disorder with depressed and anxious mood as compensable consequence of industrial injuries; found new and further disability to psyche; rejected apportionment to nonindustrial injuries as speculative.
The WCJ found Dr. Nehorayan's reports persuasive and substantial evidence supporting compensable psychiatric injury and new and further disability, rejecting defendant's challenges and lack of rebuttal psychiatric evidence.
From the decision · page 11III. DISCUSSION A. New and Further Disability - Ps ychiatric Iniury: The only issues for reconsideration are whether Applicant sustained an industrial psychiatric injury causing new and further disability, and if so, whether her entitlement to any increased permanent disability from that injury is barred. The only medical evidence submitted on the psychiatric injury are the reports of Dr. Nehorayan dated April 21, 2015 and February 9, 2017. In the former, Dr. Nehorayan concluded Applicant did sustain a psychiatric injury as a compensable consequence of her industrial injuries. He diagnosed adjustment disorder with depressed and anxious mood, chronic, referencing the DSM IV, Code 309.28. (Applicant's Exhibit 4, p. 9.) He noted that Applicant's score on the Beck Depression Inventory was indicative of an individual experiencing a moderate amount of depression. (Id. at p. 7.) He did not find her to be clinically depressed or suffering from a major depressive episode. (Id. at p. 10.) Rather, he found that the nature of her condition is that she has had to struggle continuously in adjusting to the current circumstances associated with her physical condition and the physical pain. (Ibid.) He notes it is difficult for Applicant to exercise with her arms and hands, she is
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code Section 5410
Labor Code Section 5410 - Petition to Reopen for New and Further Disability must be timely filed within five years.
The Appeals Board found applicant filed a timely petition and that the psychiatric injury related back to the original injury date ending 2008, thus within jurisdiction.
From the decision · page 3We turn to defendant's contention that the WCAB does not have jurisdiction to entertain applicant's Petition to Reopen for New and Further Disability, because it was filed beyond the five year period set forth in Labor Code section 5410. For the reasons discussed below, we do not find merit in this contention.
Labor Code Section 4660.1(c)(1)
Labor Code Section 4660.1(c)(1) does not bar compensation for psychiatric injury occurring before January 1, 2013.
The Appeals Board agreed the statute was inapplicable because the psychiatric injury related back to the cumulative trauma injury ending in 2008, before the statute's effective date.
From the decision · page 3In reference to defendant's contention that compensation for applicant's claimed compensable consequence psychiatric injury is barred by Labor Code section 4660.1(c)(1), we agree with the WCJ that the statute is inapplicable because it applies to injuries occurring on or after January 1, 2013. Here, the psychiatric injury in question relates back to the date of cumulative trauma injury ending September 2008.
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Defendant failed to submit psychiatric medical opinion in rebuttal to Dr. Nehorayan's reports.
From the decision · page 21, 2020), emphasis added.) Rule 10945(b) then goes on to specify how references to the record must be made. Here, defendant not only violated Rule 10945(b), but failed to make even a reasonable effort to include specific citations to the record. Defendant cannot evade this responsibility and place the burden on the Appeals Board to discover where the evidence supporting the petition can be found in the record. We further note, concerning the substantialty of Dr. Nehorayan's psychiatric reports, that defendant presented no psychiatric medical opinion in rebuttal, and it is well-established that the relevant and considered opinion of one physician may constitute substantial evidence. (Place v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1970) 3 Cal.3d 372, 378-379 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 525].)
Defendant's Kaiser records showed no psychiatric symptoms related to nonindustrial injuries and no psychiatric treatment by applicant before 2015.
From the decision · page 10Trial on the petition to reopen commenced on April 13, 2016. Applicant submitted medical reports from her treating physician Charles Sadler, M.D. and psychiatrist Marc Nehorayan, M.D. Defendant submitted medical reports from orthopedic PQME Peter Sofia, M.D., but offered no rebuttal reports in psychiatry. Defendant also submitted two pages of Kaiser records dated March 21, 2014 (Defendant's Exhibit H). The records discuss Applicant's nonindustrial left knee injury and a host of other conditions but there is no mention of any psychiatric symptoms.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.