What the panel ordered
The Findings and Award issued on December 19, 2023 is rescinded and substituted with findings that SIBTF is not entitled to a credit against CalPERS industrial disability retirement benefits paid to applicant.
Petition for reconsideration of the December 19, 2023 Findings and Award was granted to further study the factual and legal issues, leading to this decision after reconsideration.
This docket was decided more than once. Shown here is the latest released decision; we also hold March 18, 2024.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
SIBTF failed to prove that the CalPERS industrial disability retirement benefits were paid primarily for or on account of applicant's preexisting disabilities or impairment, thus no credit is due.
From the decision · page 8Cases 16].) While the WCAB may draw reasonable inferences from the evidence, this court may only determine whether the evidence is susceptible to the inferences drawn. (Phoenix Indemn. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com. (Hamilton) (1948) 31 Cal.2d 856, 859 [193 P.2d 745, 13 Cal. Comp. Cases 118]; Coborn v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1948) 31 Cal.2d 713, 716 [192 P.2d 959, 13 Cal. Comp. Cases 89].) Based on the foregoing, we find that SIBTF has failed to establish that applicant received IDR benefits primarily for or on account of her preexisting disabilities or impairment and SIBTF has not met its burden of proof in this case.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant worked full duty until retirement in 2012 and the employer filed the disability retirement application on her behalf.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This testimony supports that the disability retirement payments were not primarily for preexisting disability.
From the decision · page 7based on the SII. Moreover, applicant testified that she worked full duty until her retirement in
There is no evidence that CalPERS payments were made for or on account of applicant's preexisting disability.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Without such evidence, SIBTF cannot prove entitlement to credit under Labor Code section 4753.
From the decision · page 8Cases 16].) While the WCAB may draw reasonable inferences from the evidence, this court may only determine whether the evidence is susceptible to the inferences drawn. (Phoenix Indemn. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com. (Hamilton) (1948) 31 Cal.2d 856, 859 [193 P.2d 745, 13 Cal. Comp. Cases 118]; Coborn v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1948) 31 Cal.2d 713, 716 [192 P.2d 959, 13 Cal. Comp. Cases 89].) Based on the foregoing, we find that SIBTF has failed to establish that applicant received IDR benefits primarily for or on account of her preexisting disabilities or impairment and SIBTF has not met its burden of proof in this case.
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Provided a medical report dated November 2, 2022, stating 46% permanent disability for the subsequent industrial injury.
The report was admitted as the only medical report in the record and was used to establish the permanent disability percentage.
From the decision · page 4based on the report by Nader Achackzad, M.D. dated November 2, 2022, which was admitted as
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code section 4753
Labor Code section 4753 requires that SIBTF credit must be based on monetary payments received for or on account of preexisting disability or impairment.
The Board applied this statute to determine that credit is only due for payments attributable to preexisting disability.
From the decision · page 5Such additional compensation is not in addition to but shall be reduced to the extent of any monetary payments received by the employee, from any source whatsoever, for or on account of such preexisting disability or impairment, except as to payments being made to the employee or to which he is entitled as a pension or other compensation for disability incurred in service in the armed forces of the United States, and except as to payments being made to him or to which he is entitled as assistance under the provisions of Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 11200), Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 12000), Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 12500), Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 13000), or Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 13500) of Part 3, or Part 5 (commencing with Section 17000), of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, and excluding from such monetary payments received by the employee for or on account of such preexisting disability or impairment a sum equal to all sums reasonably and necessarily expended by the employee for or on account of attorney's fees, costs and expenses incidental to the recovery of such monetary payments. (§ 4753.)
Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund v. Workers' Comp Appeals Bd. (Vargas) (2024) 103 Cal. App. 5th 835
The party seeking credit has the burden of proof to establish entitlement and extent of credit under section 4753.
The court held that SIBTF must prove entitlement to credit by a preponderance of the evidence.
From the decision · page 6In Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund v. Workers' Comp Appeals Bd. (Vargas) (2024) 103 Cal. App. 5th 835 [89 Cal.Comp.Cases 144], the Court of Appeals held that as the party
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Applicant testified that she worked full duty until retirement and that the employer filed the disability retirement application on her behalf.
From the decision · page 7based on the SII. Moreover, applicant testified that she worked full duty until her retirement in
Lack of evidence showing that CalPERS payments were attributable to applicant's preexisting disability.
From the decision · page 8Cases 16].) While the WCAB may draw reasonable inferences from the evidence, this court may only determine whether the evidence is susceptible to the inferences drawn. (Phoenix Indemn. Co. v. Industrial Acc. Com. (Hamilton) (1948) 31 Cal.2d 856, 859 [193 P.2d 745, 13 Cal. Comp. Cases 118]; Coborn v. Industrial Acc. Com. (1948) 31 Cal.2d 713, 716 [192 P.2d 959, 13 Cal. Comp. Cases 89].) Based on the foregoing, we find that SIBTF has failed to establish that applicant received IDR benefits primarily for or on account of her preexisting disabilities or impairment and SIBTF has not met its burden of proof in this case.
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.